Love poetry, of a spiritual nature

I am thankful for my friends every day. Some days the gifts I receive from them are so plentiful, important, and life changing I give thanks with an even more passionate heart.

For most of my life I have had an allergic reaction to anything smacking of religion. The idea of a soul never made sense to me. The word “God” gave me the heebee jeebees. As I have gotten older, I have gotten more comfortable with not knowing, with mystery, with a lack of clear answers, with feeling and intuition, and with receiving wisdom from different sources and in different presentations.

After a pivotal and emotionally powerful conversation with my friend P today, about love, self-love, wounds, grief, and healing, she sent me the following poems. I share them in case anyone else resonates with them and finds them useful. “My Eyes So Soft” is particularly moving for me, as loneliness is something I experience as being so painful, and have since I was a little kid. One of my big emotional/psychological/spiritual/life tasks is to be with myself, gently, without judgment, without trying to change my own feelings in an effort to be more comfortable or happy. “I shouldn’t feel x way” is one way in which I make myself not ok with being me.

If I can learn to be more comfortable with my emotional realities, then I suspect I’ll be more comfortable with my kids’, too. So this is for me, and it is for them.

—–
NOW IS THE TIME

Now is the time to know
That all that you do is sacred.
Now, why not consider
A lasting truce with yourself and God.
Now is the time to understand
That all your ideas of right and wrong
Were just a child’s training wheels
To be laid aside
When you can finally live
With veracity
And love.

My dear, please tell me,
Why do you still
Throw sticks at your heart
And God?
What is it in that sweet voice inside
That incites you to fear?

Now is the time for the world to know
That every thought and action is sacred.
This is the time
For you to deeply compute the impossibility
That there is anything
But Grace.
Now is the season to know
That everything you do
Is sacred.

A CUSHION FOR YOUR HEAD
Just sit there right now
Don’t do a thing
Just rest.

For your separation from God,
From love,

Is the hardest work
In this
World.
Let me bring you trays of food
And something
That you like to
Drink.
You can use my soft words
As a cushion
For your
Head.

MY EYES SO SOFT
Don’t
Surrender
Your loneliness so quickly.
Let it cut more
Deep.
Let it ferment and season you
As few human
Or even divine ingredients can.
Something missing in my heart tonight
Has made my eyes so soft,
My voice so
Tender,
My need of God
Absolutely
Clear.

STAY WITH US
You
Leave
Our company when you speak
Of shame.
And this makes
Everyone in the Tavern sad.
Stay with us
As we do the hardest work of rarely
Laying down
That pick and
Shovel
That will keep
Revealing our deeper kinship
With
God,
That will keep revealing
Our own divine
Worth.
You leave the company of the Beloved’s friends
Whenever you speak of
Guilt,
And this makes
Everyone in the Tavern
Very sad.
Stay with us tonight
As we weave love

And reveal ourselves,
Reveal ourselves

As God’s precious
Garments.

MANY LIVES AGO
Your tastes have become refined.
It used to be
If someone stole all your coins
Or locked your sexual pleasures in a room
You could not reach
This world would have no meaning
And a thirst for a hemlock brew
Might arise.
But that was many lives ago.

Now look at yourself:
You are often still a mess
Though these days,
At times,

You weep because
You miss
God.

Leave a Reply

