walk and play, academic schooling, toddler potty training, eating away from home

I took the twins for a walk this morning. As we rounded the corner we saw a hummingbird sipping from the blossoms on a rosemary bush. The phone rang. Force of habit caused me to answer it rather than turning on the camera to capture the image, six feet away, of a hovering hummingbird. I wish I had the picture, but I am glad to have the memory. All three of us watched, entranced, until it darted away.

Around the next corner there was a conflict between my bladder’s urgent need for relief and the girls’ strong desire to keep walking and go visit the neighbor’s sandbox. The girls won, and I spent a few minutes calculating just how long it would take for desperation to ensue, and how far I could carry them if it turned out I had to get home. That last, of course, would be impacted by whether they were coming willingly or not.

Thankfully, the neighbor was home. I asked if I could use her bathroom; all three of us went inside and proceeded to have a playdate and conversation. My neighbor has two girls, one of whom is a couple of grades ahead of Hazel. She has a summer birthday, and we talked about the pros and cons of holding a very young kid back. She thinks her daughter is finally catching up this year. She was plenty smart and articulate, but her social adjustment has been complicated by her age. This includes more difficulty sitting still and obeying the rules of the classroom. All kids are different, of course, but this reinforces my guess that we’ll wind up waiting until the twins have just turned six to start them in kindergarten. This elementary school has a pretty strong academic focus, and I think that being more socially developed will be a good foundation for all that formal learning.

Non-parental trigger warning for bodily function:

Joanna pooped in the potty today! Emily instigated the removal of diapers and visit to the bathroom, but when I went in a few minutes later (after both girls had come out into the kitchen, carrying their toothbrushes and declaring, on Emily’s part, “Naked!”) there was poop in the potty Joanna uses. There was great rejoicing. Then I had to check both their diapers just to make sure, and then I had to text Ted to tell him. Ah, the profound nature of the conversation of parents of toddlers.

Last night we ordered a stainless steel compartmentalized lunch carrier for Hazel. She’s been carrying a lunch backpack inside her regular backpack, and it’s just too bulky. Plus, there’s no separate place for a cold pack, and consequently the inside gets wet and icky, leading to mold. So we’ll try this. It’s got plenty of room, a pocket for a cold pack, and separate containers that will fit inside keeping things neater. (Hazel complains about mess in her lunchbox). It also comes with magnets, and our family is a big lover of magnets. We got one for Ted, too, so he can more easily take his lunch to work instead of eating cafeteria food all the time, and one for me for the days I work elsewhere. That way I can stop paying for restaurant food every week, and that will pay for all the lunch boxes in short order.

Emily currently has a pair of training pants on her head as a hat, and some plastic beads around her neck. She and Joanna are playing hide and seek in the curtains. Lots of squealing and giggling. They’re so much fun.

Leave a Reply

