the nature of teaching

Yesterday was a very long day. I wasn’t feeling so great, wanted to do nothing and speak to no one. That, of course, is not a possibility either as a parent of small children or a teacher of cello students. But teaching worked its usual magic, and though the evening did feel long, I was able to engage and communicate, and lessons were productive. Had I a different sort of job I would have retreated into paperwork, but I am grateful that teaching almost never feels tedious, so I’ll take its sometimes intense demand for presence and interaction.

Today will be a long day too, but not scheduled. I think I’ll take the twins to the zoo.

Leave a Reply

