breaking glass, rehearsing, poking holes in the walls

This morning I balanced a glass container with one remaining beet in it on top of the lid of another container. I’ve done that before and lived to tell the tale. But I wasn’t careful, thoughtful, or even very precise in my placement, and I swung the door shut with my usual enthusiasm (our fridge door doesn’t shut if it’s not persuaded with verve to do so.) CRASH!! It was entirely predictable. grrr. Thankfully, the kids were out with Ted and I had 20 minutes to clean the glass that was inside the fridge, between it and the wall, on the floor, under the table, etc. Funny, thinking back on my blog entries for the year, I have swept up broken glass three times in the last year or so. But I will protest that one of those times wasn’t my fault.

When my ensemble arrived, therefore, I was not warmed up, the chairs were not set up, and I was a bit twitchy. But we had two good rehearsals (one with oboe, one without). There is a figure in the Britten oboe quartet that requires focus to get really precise, and then, completely in sync with the other musicians in the group. It’s a dotted rhythm (dotted eight, sixteenth) followed by a triplet, into which it’s tied. For those of you who are not familiar, imagine the difference between a quarter of something as compared to a third of it. It’s very easy to just turn the sixteenth into a triplet or vice versa. So we spent some time on that after our oboist had gone.

We also went back to the first movement of the Beethoven, which we performed a few months ago and haven’t done much with since. What’s cool is that it had improved in the interim, because we’ve gotten better at playing together.

Hazel came down and listened for a while, but when I wouldn’t let her talk (that’s the rule if she wants to be present for a rehearsal), she went back upstairs. I think in a week or two I’ll let her come down and listen to the whole piece non-stop when we run it. That way we’ll have an audience, albeit one consisting of a single little person, and she’ll have a chance to see if she can sit through a whole piece without talking. That’s the yardstick. If she can do that, she can come to the gig.

This afternoon Ted and I did some more house-related stuff. There are now official locations for 99% of our electronics, wallets, keys, etc. Finally!!! I no longer have to hunt through the house for my stuff before I leave. And there are hooks up for scarves and hats, mounted with some difficulty in our old lath and plaster. It looks cool, because you can’t see the huge holes we made in putting the screws in. In a few years that wall is going to come down when we put in the stairs, so in the meantime we’re not too worried about how it looks behind the hooks. That is one downside of lath and plaster though; it’s hard to mount hardware on the wall.

There is also still an unholy mess in our house, but the areas of order are gradually growing, and will eventually outpace the chaos.

Leave a Reply

