music, looking on the bright side

Today I started working on a quartet for oboe, violin, viola, and cello called Phantasy, by Benjamin Britten. We’re rehearsing on Sunday, and I got the music yesterday, so I wanted to get through it today. I did, barely, in the hour and a half I had while I had nanny help. Tomorrow our neighbor kid babysitter is coming over and I’ll get another hour and a half. Then Sunday we’ll run through it. We’re playing the Britten on the same concert on which I’ll be doing the Beethoven string trio. This coming week I also get music for another modern concert, and I’ve got a pop music gig sometime in the next couple of weeks. It never rains but it pours. I’m glad to have interesting music to work on.

Tomorrow, my goal is going to be to look for what I can enjoy in any given moment. I want to open up to more fun. It’s easy to get stressed when there are three kids simultaneously demanding time, attention, being picked up, etc. But I’m going to focus on the positive and really try to let everything else go. After all, there are almost always more positives to see than I’m noticing.

On the plus side at the moment, the kids all went down very easily this evening. Here’s hoping for a good night.

Leave a Reply

