birthday, food, sleeping in, garden design and more

It’s my birthday today. It was mostly a regular day, except that Ted stayed home late so that I could sleep in this morning, which was sheer and utter bliss. I got up at 10 am. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Then we had a garden designer come over to look at our property so he can make a grand plan for us. We’re really looking forward to making more progress in that area. Soon, the shed will come down, and we’ll have more space. And having a plan in place will make it easier for us to do things bit by bit, knowing that we’re working toward something that we’ll find appealing and functional for us as a family.

Then I had a PT appointment, at which I did single leg squats on a bosu turned upside down. I didn’t think I was going to be able to do that, but I did! What a change from a few months ago. My knee still tweaks me, but I think soon I’ll be able to go back to the gym.

And then I taught a few students, including a new one. My studio has really turned over; it used to be over half adults, and now I have only 3 adult students, and 9 or 10 kids. I have a bunch of new people this year. So, I am putting off the planned November recital, since almost no one will be ready for it, and doing a December gathering for chamber music and studio class. We’ll do a recital in the spring.

When I got home I was greeted by Hazel saying, “Mommy, I have a present for you!” before proudly presenting me with two pairs of warm fuzzy socks. She said, “I thought you’d like them, because when it gets cold in the winter, they’ll keep your feet warm.”

For dinner, I ate an *ahem* eclectic mix of braunshweiger, bacon, avocado, and mango. Hmmmm. I think I need to eat some spinach too, so my body doesn’t yell too much.

And, I made the first stage of these Paleo-friendly Brownies. Tomorrow I’ll make the caramel and the chocolate ganache and we’ll see how they taste.

One of the best things about Facebook is all the birthday greetings. It’s lovely to see them all. I am 45 years old today, and happy to be alive, and to have all the richness and splendor that is in my life. Twenty years ago I would not have guessed that at 45 I’d have a 4.5-year-old and 16-month-old twins. What a ride!

Leave a Reply

