Housework, creative work, developing twin relationship

Today was a day of domestic work. When the morning began there was a huge pile of dishes in the sink and on the counters, the shopping hadn’t been done, the meals for the week weren’t chosen, and the fridge had some unappetizing things in it. Today has now ended. There is another pile of dishes in the sink, but in between the first pile and this one, I have done dishes, cleaned the counters, made a list, gone shopping, cooked (first with Hazel and then by myself), done more dishes, and cleaned the kitchen floor. The second pile is smaller. It wouldn’t be there at all, except that I took a couple of hours to go join my writing group, where I made some more progress on figuring out my magic system.

I used to really dread tasks like dishes. Now, ironically, I find that the satisfaction I gain from that sort of completed task, along with the energy derived from doing something productive, as well as the practical benefits of having dishware on which to put food and food to put on the dishes all help to contribute to both my desire to write or practice or work out, and the effectiveness with which I do any of those things.

So, today was probably 65%/35% housework to writing. Tomorrow I am hoping to swap those numbers so that I can practice and write, as well as getting another dish cooked. I’m actually looking forward to both the practical and creative activities. Funny how the most unlikely things wind up complementing each other.

When I was cleaning the kitchen this afternoon I put the two high chairs next to each other and changed the orientation of the kitchen table. The twins are able to feed themselves now: all we have to do is put food on their trays and they’ll pick it up and eat it (minus whatever falls into cracks, crannies, and bib pockets, but we retrieve and re-offer that for the most part). So, we don’t have to sit between them armed with a bowl of mush and two spoons. Having a chair between the two high chairs required the table to be angled diagonally across the room, causing chair legs to become tripping hazards. So having the table back in a more regular alignment helps kitchen flow and logistics a lot. Also, once I’d put them next to each other, the twins started interacting much more, reaching out for each other (as well as for each other’s food). They smiled at each other. They both kicked their feet in excitement. They stayed in their chairs happily for long enough that I was able to get the spinach pesto turkey meatloaf prepared (a very yummy dish that I augmented by surrounding it with sweet potatoes drizzled with olive oil and sea salt). At that point I decided I’d earned my stripes for the day and set off to get in some writing.

A good day.

Leave a Reply

