No router, no post (s)

Our router, after working fine for quite a long time, has gone belly up. No router means no posting, since I refuse to attempt to write anything longer than a sentence on my phone. Now I’m with my Tuesday writing group, and need to get going on the putative novel, but while I’m upgrading Scrivener I figured I’d drop a line on my blog. Or a few lines.

I went to a meeting last night. The group is ICAN, the International Cesarian Awareness Network. They provided me a lot of needed support throughout my last pregnancy, and I wanted to bring the twins and tell our story. It was great to see a bunch of women who were present the last time I came to the meeting, when I was vastly pregnant and still hashing through various aspects of our decision-making process. I managed to wrangle the babies, with some help from others present. I fed them, held them, and shared them.

Hearing others’ stories brought back some of the agonizing I’ve experienced at different times in my pregnancies. It reinforces my belief that women’s right to choose should be paramount. The people who come to those meetings make a variety of different choices, since the same solutions don’t work for everyone. The common denominator, though, is our firm belief that in this arena as in others, there should be a wide range of supportive options available for women and their partners. I am so grateful for the strong support I received from our two doulas, who helped me and Ted so much.

Driving home, the twins were hungry and crying. I started singing to soothe them, a song I re-wrote when Hazel was a year old. It seemed to work:  the babies calmed down, and stayed that way all through our arrival at the house and diaper changes. So here’s “You Are My Sunshine,” the tune of which I love, but the words of which I find co-dependant and icky. I like my version better.

You are my sunshine, my lovely sunshine,

You make me happy when skies are grey,

You’ll always know, dear, how much I love you,

Because I’ll tell you every day.

The other night, dear, as I was sleeping,

I dreamed I held you in my arms.

When I awoke then, and got to hug you,

I was happy, and I smiled.

You are my sunshine, my lovely sunshine,

You make me happy when skies are grey,

You’ll always know, dear, how much I love you,

Because I’ll tell you every day.

Each day you tell me

How much you love life

And we go out into the world

You’re so delightful,

We play together,

And I’m so grateful that you’re here with me.

You are my sunshine, my lovely sunshine,

You make me happy when skies are grey,

You’ll always know, dear, how much I love you,

Because I’ll tell you every day.

Leave a Reply

