The (Necessary) Bliss of Sleep

Last night because I’ve been feeling so cruddy for so long, we switched things up. I fed the babies at 10 pm, and then I took some Niquil and went to bed. Ted bottlefed them at 3 am. I woke up at 8 am hearing crying and came downstairs. I’m nursing them now, having had about 9 hours of sleep for the first time in well over six months, if not much longer. I am not all better, but the difference is amazing. I can’t do this very often; I need to keep up my milk supply by maintaining the demand on it. But, it is a glimpse into the future of when the babies feed less often and I can get longer stretches of sleep at night.

Sleep is when our bodies heal, repairing hurts, fighting infections, building and maintaining systems that contribute to our physical, emotional, and energetic well-being. Being constantly deprived of enough sleep starts depleting our resources and makes it impossible to gain ground in the effort to recover from sickness. In Hazel’s first year of life I was sick for months on end. I am going to attempt to learn from my prior experience, and this time, give myself the periodic gift (with Ted’s extremely generous help) of a full night’s sleep.

Leave a Reply

